A Beachside/Trail Trip with Inboard M1

This is actually not my first trip on this route. But this time, I decided to venture a bit further into the trail and actually record the ride using Strava. I forgot to record right as I was leaving the house, so that adds about 0.7 miles of route.

First up, here are Strava screen shots of the trip.

I chose Irving St. because the street was relatively freshly paved, so it’s nice and smooth. The ride was nice and I had no issues with going down the road. I’m still getting used to the board, and until I get completely used to it, I won’t be able to do the action cam that people usually do while they board. I do know that it’ll make this blog and potentially the YouTube channel I may make in the future much more interesting.

Anyway, there is a little stretch where elevation just spikes (as you see in the graph), that is about 7.0% grade according to hillmapper.com, but this incline seems to have been calculated over the whole stretch of the road, instead of small stretches and there are definitely differing grades of incline here and there. But it went up without a hitch, although it did slow down a lot at times.

After getting to Land’s End, I went onto hard packed/pavement road with dirt on top. Some of the roads were really really bumpy. Despite the bumpy road, Inboard handled it well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After these bumpy roads, I stopped by a pretty cool memorial to a battleship.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Around where the turn back to Irving St. is, I had to change the battery. I noticed that the speed was definitely a lot less. This WAS at 1 LED worth of battery.

Other than a few sideway glances and some “right on”s, the ride was pretty uneventful. I had a blast riding it around, but every time I take this route I realize how underpowered the hub motors in Inboard M1 are. The motors work well for my needs though, and I am loving that swappable battery.

It was a lot of fun trying the off road. But after getting back, I had a lot of cleaning to do. But I think it was worth it to test the limits of the board. I think down the road I definitely want to get a second board, probably a Evolve Bamboo/Carbon, since they have AT wheel options.

 

Leave a comment